70 days ago

Second coronavirus case in Canterbury

Nicole Mathewson Reporter from The Press

A man in his 50s who arrived in Canterbury five days ago is the second person in the region to test positive for coronavirus.

Ministry of Health director-general of health Ashley Bloomfield confirmed on Friday the country had 11 new cases of Covid-19, bringing the total to 39.

The Canterbury man arrived in Christchurch from Los Angeles on March 15 on flight American Airlines AA83 and flight Air New Zealand NZ535.

A woman in her 40s, who arrived in Christchurch on March 16 from London, was the city's first positive case.

Read Stuff's full coverage on coronavirus, including how to keep yourself safe, here.

More messages from your neighbours
3 hours ago

Look at these great Local Likes...

The Team from Neighbourly.co.nz

Hey Lolly Shop and Placemakers Christchurch! Your neighbours really LIKE you! Check out these awesome shoutouts from your local community. Thanks for being such a special part of your community. Make a Local Like

Image
19 hours ago

WIN: A Resene makeover

Jo Haywood Reporter from Homed

Hey neighbours, everyone's had a part to play in the fight against Covid-19, but here's a chance to say thanks to someone you know who kept working for the benefit of the rest of us - nurses, doctors, pharmacists, teachers, supermarket employees and many, many more.

We're giving away three prizes with Resene, each worth more than $500, including a Resene colour consultation, a $350 Resene voucher and the latest Resene fan decks.

So if you know an essential worker who would love one of these prize packs, click here to nominate them.

Image
P
1 day ago

Power site for Caravan

Phil from Oxford

Hello neighbours. My name is Phil. I will be 69 in Nov. I am quiet, with sober habits and a clean living person who is willing and able to help with the work on a lifestyle property or farm. I am moving back home to Canterbury and looking for a place to live in my caravan in the Cooper's Creek, View Hill area or approx 10 - 12 kms within the Oxford area. I come from a farming background and have been a lambing shepherd and a bushman. If there is someone who can help with my request please phone me Phil on 04 567 4772. Thank you.